reading through 2012: week 8

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
― C.S. Lewis

books! one of my new year’s goals was to read 52 books in 2012. that’s one a week. so far, i’m exactly on track. it’s week 8 and i just finished my 8th book. here’s what i’ve been reading since i last updated you guys.

The Return of the King. Being the third part of the Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. i was reading through the entire Lord of the Rings series again, starting with The Hobbit. i had finished the other three last year so that’s why it looks like i was reading just the third. it was actually only the second time that i’ve read through the entire series. i don’t really have words to describe how wonderful they are. i’ve learned so much, been so inspired and my life has been changed by these books. and they’re the most incredible fantasy stories.. ever.

“I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.” ― C.S. Lewis

The Hole in Our Gospel by Richard Sterns . do you ever feel like something big is missing in your life.. something important? if you want to be staggered out of inward focused christianity, this is the book for you. i listened to it on audiobook and it held me in rapt attention. and i cried. a lot. written by the president of World Vision, its about the bleeding world around us. and how we can change it.

Crazy Love by Francis Chan. this book is about love. God’s crazy, radical love for us. our love for him. and those around us. it’s one of the most beautiful pictures of what love really is that i’ve ever seen. and how to really love. radically. tangibly.

Take Your Best Shot by Austin Gutwein. if you don’t think there’s any way a 9 year old boy can change the world by shooting free throws, think again. it’s about the boy who started Hoops of Hope to raise money for orphans caused by the AIDS pandemic. it’s about how God wants to use you, in whatever it is you are passionate about, to make a difference in the world.

so. do you guys have any book recommendations for me? i still have 44 to go before the end of the year! what are some of your favorite books? the ones you could read over and over?
-beth

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “reading through 2012: week 8

  1. changeinview says:

    If you want to challenge your current beliefs, I would look into reading “Searching for God knows what” and “Blue like Jazz” by Donald Miller and “The Shack” by William Paul Young. I say challenge your beliefs because all 3 of those books really open your eyes to seeing God in a different way than most traditionalist do. You do have to read them with an open mind, but also keep in mind that you are able to have your own opinions and disagree with them. They will get you thinking for sure.

    • Duoimagery says:

      Thanks for the suggestions! Donald Miller is one of my all time favorite authors! I’ve read “Blue Like Jazz” and “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years”. Absolutely incredible books! But I would like to read more of his and I’m going to check out “The Shack”. I’ve had it recommended to me before so now I’m definitely needing to go read it. :) Thanks!

      • changeinview says:

        Another one you might take a look at is Pure Desire. It deals with Sexual addictions mostly, but helps one walk through a path of figuring out what past hurts they may have and how it is keeping them from having a true relationship with God. The steps work with any addiction from food to work to alcohol.

        Keep us posted on your books. I tried that a couple years ago and made it about 2 months. I look forward to finding out what you read.

      • Duoimagery says:

        Wow, that sounds really good! I’ll have to go check it out!
        I will keep you posted! I update my book list about every month so check in to see what I’ve been reading! =D

  2. Roman says:

    Since you’ve been in Tolkien land, The Silimarillion is a must-read! It’s a pretty hefty book though, maybe more than a week’s worth…

  3. Sheila Hurst says:

    I don’t know how you can do it but good luck! I’m trying for 30 by the end of the year and I’m not so sure that’s even really possible.

  4. […] To see books #1-8 click HERE and HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

