gratitude

“All our discontents about what we want appeared to spring from the want of thankfulness for what we have.”
Daniel Defoe

thankfulness. gratitude. how often am i thankful for what is in my life. for the moment. for all the little joys, and all the big ones? how many days go past without me expressing my gratitude to God for everything he gives me? yes, i thank him before i eat my food, but some days i think that’s about as far as i get. if i enjoy something, to not be thankful for it, doesn’t it rob it of half of its joy? if God gives me a gift and i don’t thank him for it, what was it to me?
or those moments, those parts of the day that aren’t particularly wonderful, the little irritations or the mundane, what if i thanked God for them before complaining for them?
so i have started on a journey of thankfulness. every day i keep a journal next to me. and whenever something makes me smile, makes my heart warm, i write it down. whenever something makes me laugh.. be it a joke from a friend or something as simple as the blue sky on a cloudless day, i jot it down. and the mundane, the irritations? i’m learning to, instead of grumbling under my breath, before i complain about them, i write them down. sometimes i grit my teeth as my pen scribbles the ink letters on the page, but i do it just the same. then i stop and read what i just wrote down, in my thankfulness journal, and more often than not it makes me laugh. i’m thankful for that?! and then the irritation slips away.
it’s like pollyanna’s glad game. it makes me happy. and it makes me more connected to the one that i’m thanking. sometimes, when i laugh at what i wrote, i can hear him laughing, too.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “gratitude

  1. Jodiann says:

    something on my thankful list yesterday was a belated christmas card from YOU! :) miss you and love you!

  2. Beth says:

    This is so beautiful it makes me want to cry…my throat clenches shut and I feel a tiny explosion of gratefulness inside…a gratefulness that mirrors yours…it’s as contagious as a smile..:’)

    Thank you, God, for Bethy. :)

Leave a Reply

