Happy December!


I’m so happy that its the Christmas season. I love Christmas so much. I love what it represents. Why we are celebrating. It’s pretty amazing to think that a baby being born over 2000 years ago still causes such celebrating, decorating, getting together, making yummy food, buying gifts for each other.. just for a baby’s birthday. But that’s what’s so amazing about it. It’s the most important birthday in the history of man. And the greatest gift ever given. At church on Sunday our worship leader said this, “The greatest gift you will ever give or receive this Christmas is the love of God.” And its so true. So this Christmas season, while enjoying everything as much as ever, I was trying to think of a way to give back. Not just to friends and family. But to those you have no family, no friends, no home.

So John and I got an idea. Instead of buying Christmas ornaments this year, we’re only going to decorate with candy canes. And each cane will represent $1 to donate to Warm Blankets Care International for the orphans in India. Sometimes it’s so easy to give back. And it makes me so happy doing it. It makes me try to think of other ways to give to others.. any ideas? What are ways you want to give back this Christmas season?

I love how we place a star on top of our trees.. I love what it represents. Isn’t it crazy that we still decorate our trees with a star – that star that lead the wise men and shepherds to where Jesus lay in the manger? It gives me shivers.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Happy December!

  1. Bethy says:

    I LOVE this!! And I really love the simplicity and beauty of the candy canes on your tree…not to mention the symbolism and how you are giving back. I’m proud to know you two and call you my Friends…:) <3

  2. Bethy says:

    p.s. I love the second pic. It made me gasp happily:)

Leave a Reply

